Race Point Light is located approximately 2.5 miles from the heart of Provincetown, at the northwestern tip of the Cape. Due to the large number of shipwrecks in the area, Race Point Light was constructed in 1816 - the first of the three lighthouses in Provincetown. In 1957, the Fresnel lens was replaced with a 1000-watt lamp. The larger of the two keeper's houses was torn down in 1960-61. The light was automated in 1978. In 1995, the keeper's house and light were leased to the New England Lighthouse Foundation (now the American Lighthouse Foundation), who completed restoration of the tower and keeper's house in 1997. In 1998, the keeper's residence was opened for overnight stays. In 2006 the whistle house was restored and is to be made available to overnight guests starting in 2007.