Concord Point Lighthouse (and Laughing Seagull)
Concord Point Light is a lighthouse in Havre de Grace, Maryland, overlooking the point where the Susquehanna River flows into the Chesapeake Bay, an area of increasing navigational traffic at the time it was constructed in 1827. It was built by John Donahoo who built many lighthouses in Maryland. It is the most northerly lighthouse in Maryland and the oldest continuously-operated lighthouse in Maryland.
Concord Point Light is a 36-foot (10.97 m) tower that was built in 1827. It is the second oldest tower lighthouse on the Chesapeake Bay and the oldest continuously-operated lighthouse in Maryland. The lighthouse is constructed of Port Deposit granite. The walls are 31 inches (79 cm) thick at the base and narrow to 18 inches (46 cm) at the parapet. John Donahoo also built the keeper's dwelling (known as the O'Neill House) across the street.
The lantern was originally lit with 9 whale oil lamps with 16-inch (41 cm) tin reflectors. In 1854, a sixth-order Fresnel lens was installed. This was later upgraded to a fifth-order Fresnel lens. The lighthouse was automated in 1920.
The lighthouse is maintained by The Friends of Concord Point Lighthouse. The tower is open to visitors Saturdays, Sundays and holidays from 1:00 p.m. until 5 p.m., May through October. The grounds are open year-round.
lighthouselighthouseconcord pointstationmaritimecoastguardhavre de gracemarylandlighthouses